Life happens and you can’t always be available to work. But how do you make sure you don’t get booked for a job during a time that doesn’t suit? That’s where Geo’s Unavailability feature comes in handy. 


Unavailability Settings

So that staff can enter their unavailability you’ll need to create custom leave types first. To do this go to Settings and then click on the Unavailability tab. Only admins can view and edit leave types so make sure you have the right privileges on your Geo account.

The Unavailability tab is where you can add, edit, re-order and delete different types of leave. By default, there will already be some leave types in place, such as sick leave. 

To add, edit or delete a leave type click on the pencil icon in the top right-hand corner.


Creating and editing leave types

After clicking on the pencil icon click Add leave type at the bottom on the screen to create a new leave type. 

From there you’ll need to give the leave type a name (e.g. maternity leave, annual leave, unpaid leave). Leave type names have a limit of 60 characters so keep it short and sweet. Clicking the coloured box on the left allows you to change the colour if desired.

Clicking and holding the grid icon on the right allows you to also move leave types around and order them to your liking.

To save all changes, click the tick in the top right-hand corner.

 

Deleting leave types

Clicking the X icon next to a leave type will delete it. However, leave types can only be deleted if they are not currently in use, meaning anyone who has submitted leave using that leave type will cause an error message to appear.

Adding Unavailability 

So now that you have some leave types in place, you and your team can now add in unavailability. Staff, Team Leaders and Contractors can add, edit and delete their own unavailabilities, whereas Admins and Team Leaders can add, edit and delete entries for anyone. This is done in the Job Schedule page. On the main Geo menu click on the Job Schedule tab

To enter an unavailability, click on the calendar on the Job Schedule page (it doesn’t matter if it’s not set to the day you wish to be unavailable for). This triggers a pop up window, from there select Add Unavailability from the available options.

This takes you to a form where you’ll add in some details about the type of unavailability you need to submit.

  • Staff - This is autofilled with your name.
  • Leave Type - Select from the dropdown the type of leave.
  • If you wish to be unavailable the whole day tick the All Day box.
  • Start date - Select the start of your unavailability.
  • Start time - Select the starting time of your unavailability.
  • End date - Select the end of your unavailability.
  • End time - Select the ending time of your unavailability.
  • Note - This is an optional step. You can enter in any necessary details about your unavailability.

To finalise click save. This will send an email to all admins and team leaders so they can know right away that you’re unavailable during your selected date and time. Emails are also sent if an Unavailability is edited or deleted.

If your unavailability clashes with an existing job that you’ve been booked for, you’ll be sent an alert message in Geo. 

Display Unavailability from the Job Schedule

Once an Unavailability is added to Geo, it will show up on the calendar on the Job Schedule page. It looks similar to a job booking but has a red outline instead. This is visible to everyone regardless of their role and permissions.

When clicked on more details about the Unavailability will display in a pop-up. You can also edit and delete unavailability from this pop-up by clicking the pencil (edit) or the X (delete) icon.

 

Filter Unavailability

Sometimes you don’t need to see everything at once. Maybe you just want to see all your bookings without everyone’s unavailabilities getting in the way. On the Job Schedule page you can filter out unavailabilities and bookings and see what want to see. 

To do this, click the filter icon at the top of the Job Schedule page and tick the things you want to filter out. If you want to reverse your filter, simply untick the box.

Did this answer your question?